Beijing and settling in

Hello world! Long time no talk! The last week has been pretty uneventful. But you know me, I’m a picture taking whore, so I took photo documentation of all the boring things I did. Here’s a few examples. Try to guess what’s going on in them! The rest of the pics should be posted sometime soon on facebook.

Beijing was “hella legit” to use the words the kids use these days. Lots of gawking chinese people (I had about 30 people want a picture with me at tiananmen square) lots of bargain shopping and haggling, lots of touring, and lots of great food.

Things I did not expect about the program I’m with:

1. The number of people; there are about 200 of us in total, way more than I thought.

2. Everyone’s british: it’s like me and a couple other americans and that’s it. It’s like being in two dif foreign countries at once. Or like I’m in Wee Britain. Gotta keep an eye out for poppins.

3. My school and apartment is ridiculously nice and modern: the school has every media you could imagine and each class is only 16 kids. The apartment has a washing machine, built in surround sound, full media center, two bedrooms with king beds and a walk in closet.

All told things are going awesome so far. Though, right now a ridiculous thunder storm is going on outside (it is monsoon season down here still), but I kinda like it :). Tomorrow is my first day teaching, so expect my next update to be all about my love of little kids . . . Now for your moment of zen:

About simatian

From California, Berkeley Grad, History major, the rest of it you can learn about me in the blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Beijing and settling in

  1. Dippy says:

    dude you are totally getting taken are of.. thats hella legit. although like i said before I still prefer an uncivilized picture of you living in a tree-house in a ninja village in the middle of the forest, swinging on a vine to school. come to think of it thats not really china… I suppose fancy apartment with surround sound and king size beds works tho. great wall looks amazing. thanks for the pic. post more 🙂 gluck tomorrow

  2. Dippy says:

    dude also the smiley faces on this website look kinda evil…

  3. Well, I’m sorry to hear you’re roughing it (no dryer?), but at least it’s an authentic experience. …hella legit? Really?

    So how much taller are you than most people? And is that your roommate in the last photo, and did you lend him your jersey or something?

    WP Tip: If you put image captions in the title tag of the photo, we’ll be able to see them when we mouseover.

    Now put on your jumper and show no fear on your first day of school, guv’nah, and things will turn out tickety-boo. Good luck!
    -Sis

  4. Pequod says:

    Aye, mate…, I’m up for air from almost being done my reading contagion – right now the Parsee is no where to be seen and with only 22 pages to go… Your world looks great… wee Britian =D Looking forward to seeing things unfold… thanks…

Leave a comment